Return to Axesrus "Late 50s Humbucker Sized" P90s
Sort By::
Page of 1


  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Amazing P90 !!!! June 20, 2019
Reviewer: David C Hunter from Steeple Claydon, Buckinghamshire England  
Fitted the Alnico 2 version in the neck position of a small body semi acoustic - and it sounds fantastic ! Clear, bright and with loads of mid range to add warmth. Brilliant pickup for blues.

Seriously well put together too. Professional quality at a great price. I would happily put this up against any of the "big name" brands.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Superb August 26, 2018
Reviewer: Carl Young from Thirsk, United Kingdom  
I've long suspected that the likes of bare knuckle and seymour duncan are over priced and these p90s go someway to proving that. I put these into a PRS Mira to replace a set of Bare Knuckle Mules I had in it using 500k pots to preserve top end, and I've put the series/parralel connections to ground for now as Craig at AxesRUs suggested. First thing I noticed Is how quiet they are - there's a slight amount of hum but very little - in fact I think they're queiter than the Mules I took out. They have a lovely snap and bite which suits the grit they produce and the distorted sound is plain filthy! Cleaned up they are so articulate and clear. I need to spend some time with them and maybe play with pots and caps but I'll be using these pickups live as of now, I'm so happy with them. Fantastic value for money. Well done Axesrus!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fantastic April 14, 2015
Reviewer: Darren Hampton from Wymondham, Norfolk .United Kingdom  
I dont normally bother to add reviews but these warrant it. I've worked in the repair/setup industry for a good few years now & as such, have come across a lot of pickups & in particular the worst ones for me have always been hum sized p90's (especially the alnico II variety) they just never sound right.

These however, sound incredibly like a traditional alnico5 dogear p90, without the installation hassles on a modern humbucker equipped archtop.

I was dead set on putting dogears on a recently purchased archtop (i'm a big Scotty Moore fan) but I thought i'd give these a try before I started drilling/modifying, i'm so glad I did - i've been nothing but happy with them.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 More than expected for the money October 24, 2014
Reviewer: Hubaxe from France  
I bought a set of Late 50s for a telecaster.
First impression very positive. Neat box, high quality wire.
Once installed in the guitar, those pickups deliver. A nice rolled off treble with a lot of character and a tight and punchy bass.
Very well balanced pickups. Adjusting carefully the eight make them sound very nicely.  Absolutly no regret. I have another telecaster on the workbench, I won't try other pickups. Those ones are filling all my requirements, and more.  Well done axesrus, it's a performance to sell such high quality items at a really fair price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 - A Very Good Surprise !!! June 12, 2014
Reviewer: thierry from South of France  
I've Got an Guitar that I Wanted To Sell (with two S.D. Phat-Cat installed on it...). After that My Axesrus "Late 50s Humbucker Sized" P90s were mounted : I've Decided to Keep this Cheap Guitar, which is Now Really Good...
... and to Sell my set of "Phat Cat" !!!

I Love the 3 Positions of my Guitar and I Think The Middle-One is More Useable Now. The Sound is More Beefy and Less Muddy with the "Axesrus Late 50s P-90 Humbucker Size" than Before...
Thank You For These Great & Low Priced Pickups !

So now, I Have in Stock : "HSA290 Humbucker Sized P90", "Classic 50s - Deluxe Humbucker" & "T90 Bridge Pickup for Tele" For Trying Onto Others of My Guitars.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 great job on these! November 12, 2013
Reviewer: Dominik Dietrich from Neukirchen-Vluyn, NRW Germany  
I've installed two sets now (on my Ibanez AS53 and AF55) and I am so pleased that I am already working on a video review including direct comparison audio. The Late 50s are delivering exactly what I expected. This fat singlecoil tone with raw mids and an existing bottom end. Definitely comparable to the Duesenberg Dominos I loved so much.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Quality Pickup December 26, 2012
Reviewer: Arjen from Landgraaf, Limburg Netherlands  
The pickup looks well made and feels sturdy. I installed it in the neck position of a telecaster. This pickup is quite loud, so it sits almost level with my pickguard, for balance with my Tonerider Hot Classic Tele bridge pickup. It's really well balanced in terms of frequency response, with a bit more emphasis on the mids. It sounds like a really big single coil pickup, with more output. On a cleanish amp, you get a bit of breakup when digging in, which I like a lot.  With a bit more overdrive you can still hear the string separation. It doesn't get muddy, which is important to me. It's smooth, but in your face when you need it. This house brand pickup is comparable to Irongear and Tonerider in terms of quality IMHO. I've been playing for 25 years and looking for 'tone' ever since. I now know it's in your fingers, but a good pickup can help you to shape the sound you're looking for. This humbucker sized P90 delivers the goods. I'm looking forward to dealing with Axesrus again soon!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Neck December 18, 2012
Reviewer: Paul Mooney from Lincoln, Lincolnshire United Kingdom  
I refitted a 1997 Epiphone Les Paul Custom (ebony). I put the axesrus P-90 at the neck (and a Gibson Burstbucker at the bridge). I love the p90, really smooth and contrasts well with the burstbucker.

I really like being able to switch from a dirty humbucker to a warmer P90 with ease. I'd defintely recommend giving it a try. The blend of the two pick ups is interesting (sort of light acoustic-ish, almost wah-like)... I like having something with a different kind of sound.


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Late 50s Humbucker sized P90s September 13, 2012
Reviewer: Jordi Mateu Bartrolí from Spain  
I installed these yesterday at night and have played them this morning.
Perfect! They are what I was looking for: thick and powerful but also
with detail and clarity. My guitar has changed completely, like
another instrument. You can't tell it's a cheap chinese guitar!


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Late 50s Humbucker sized P90s September 13, 2012
Reviewer: Adam Richards from United Kingdom  
The neck pickup is quite bold and bassy. As it is a P90 you also get a good deal of clarity punching through, Ideal neck pick up tone, think a super thick Strat or Tele neck pick. Great for lead, ideal for blues.

Was this review helpful to you?